Old Russian pictorial and ornamental embroidery is particularly valuable as a part of the museum collection. Fabric collection of the Museum was formed in 1920 - 1940s, and, with few exceptions, was preserved after the destruction of the museum by fascists in 1941. The uniqueness of the collection lies within the origins of the objects (churches, monasteries, museums). There is a unique veil "Praise of the Mother of God" and "Christ with the Apostle’s dating back to 1510 that came from the Cathedral of the Resurrection of the town of Volokolamsk.
In general, the museum’s collection of ancient embroidery is diverse, expressive and allows to gain a rather full understanding of this art form, its features and place in the history of Russian art.